JEFFERSON CITY PUBLIC SCHOOLS BOARD OF EDUCATION MINUTES OF REGULAR MEETING APRIL 13, 2015

CALL TO ORDER

At 6:00 p.m., President Dennis Nickelson called the regular meeting of the Board to order. He read the district's mission statement, areas of focus, and recognized Thorpe Gordon Elementary and Lawson Elementary art students and teachers for their work displayed in the board room. President Nickelson announced the character trait of the month "Accountable."

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by the Troup 10 Boy Scout Troop from Grace Episcopal Church.

ROLL CALL

Roll call was taken with the following members present: Joy Sweeney, John Ruth, Doug Whitehead, Dennis Nickelson, Steve Bruce, Alan Mudd, and Ken Theroff. A quorum was established

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

A motion was made by Alan Mudd and seconded by Joy Sweeney to approve the agenda. The agenda was approved with the following vote: Ayes -7. Nays - None. Abstentions - None. Absent - None.

OPEN FORUM

No one came forward to address the Board.

RECOGNITIONS

Dr. Mitchell and all of the board members then recognized and thanked outgoing board president Dennis Nickelson for his service to the board and district during the past year as president. He also recognized outgoing board members Mrs. Joy Sweeney and Mr. Alan Mudd for each of their six years of service to the children of the district.

CONSENT AGENDA ITEMS

President Nickelson presented the Consent Agenda items (pages 3 through 34 of the packet) for approval. A motion was made by Alan Mudd and seconded by Joy Sweeney to approve the Consent Agenda items as presented and to include amended minutes of March 9 (include Steve Bruce in the roll call). The items were approved with the following vote: Ayes -7. Nays - None. Absent - None. Absent - None.

REPORTS/COMMUNICATIONS

Facility Financing Projections

Jason Hoffman, CFO/COO, presented financing projections and a powerpoint on costs for maintaining the current buildings and possible future new construction projects for the district. The powerpoint will be incorporated into the official minute book.

OLD BUSINESS

There was no Old Business to come before the Board.

NEW BUSINESS

Approve Election Results

Alan Mudd presented a motion to approve the April 13, 2015, board candidate election results as certified by the county clerks and as reflected on page 35 of the packet. John Ruth seconded. The motion carried with the following vote: Ayes – 7. Nays – None. Abstentions – None. Absent – None.

MOTION TO RECESS AND ADJOURN SINE DIE

A motion was presented to recess for a short reception for the retiring administrators and to adjourn sine die (indefinitely) was presented by Alan Mudd and seconded by Ken Theroff. The motion carried with the following vote: Ayes-7. Nays-None. Abstentions-None. Absent-None.

REORGANIZATION OF THE BOARD

Oath

The Oath of Office was given by Secretary Claudia Borgmeyer to newly elected Board Members Pam Murray and Michael Couty. Each member signed a hard copy of the oath as administered which will be placed in the official minute book.

Reorganization

Temporary Chair and President Nominations

Superintendent Mitchell then presided as temporary chairman and asked the members for nominations for President. Doug Whitehead nominated John Ruth to serve as President. Dennis Nickelson moved that nominations cease and that John Ruth be elected by acclamation. Doug Whitehead seconded. The motion carried with the following vote: Ayes – 7. Nays – None. Abstentions – None. Absent – None.

Vice President Nominations

Superintendent Mitchell then asked for nominations for the office of Board Vice President. Dennis Nickelson nominated Doug Whitehead to serve as Vice President. John Ruth moved that nominations cease and that Mr. Whitehead be elected by acclamation. Ken Theroff seconded. The motion carried with the following vote: Ayes – 7. Nays – None. Abstentions – None. Absent – None.

Treasurer Nominations

The meeting was then turned over to the new President, John Ruth. He then asked for nominations for the office of Treasurer. Ken Theroff nominated Steve Bruce to serve as Treasurer. Dennis Nickelson moved that nominations cease and Mr. Ruth be elected by acclamation. Ken Theroff seconded. The motion carried with the following vote: Ayes -7. Nays - None. Abstentions - None. Absent - None.

Secretary Nominations

President Nickelson then called for nominations for the office of Secretary. Steve Bruce nominated Claudia Borgmeyer to serve as Secretary and that nominations cease and Ms. Borgmeyer be elected by acclamation. Michael Couty seconded. The motion carried with the following vote: Ayes - 7. Nays - None. Abstentions - None. Absent - None.

CALL TO ORDER OF NEW BOARD

President Ruth introduced the new officers of the reconstituted Board of Education: John Ruth – President, Doug Whitehead – Vice President, Steve Bruce – Treasurer, and Claudia Borgmeyer – Secretary. He then called the newly organized Board to order.

ROLL CALL

Roll call was taken with all of the members present: Pam Murray, John Ruth, Doug Whitehead, Dennis Nickelson, Steve Bruce, Michael Couty, and Ken Theroff. All members were present and a quorum was established.

NEW BUSINESS

Delegates and Alternate

Doug Whitehead nominated Dennis Nickelson to serve as the Board of Education's Delegate to the Missouri School Boards Association and Steve Bruce as the Alternate. Ken Theroff seconded. The motion carried with the following vote: Ayes – 7. Nays – None. Abstentions – None. Absent – None.

Hawthorn Bank and Central Bank Certifications/Resolutions

A motion was presented by Doug Whitehead to adopt the Hawthorn Bank and Central Bank resolutions which would allow the new president, vice president, and treasurer signing authorization on the various district accounts held at both banks. Dennis Nickelson seconded. The motion carried with the following vote: Ayes -7. Nays - None. Abstentions - None. Absent - None.

FUTURE DATES

President Ruth reminded the members of the district activities under Future Dates.

ADJOURN

The Board adjourned at 6:55 p.m. via motion to adjourn by Steve Bruce and a second by Dennis Nickelson. The motion carried with the following vote: Ayes – 7. Nays – None. Abstentions – None. Absent – None.

	John Ruth, President	
Claudia Borgmeyer, Secretary		